Peanut Butter Filled Chocolate Cupcakes

There’s nothing better than peanut butter filling.  I remember the first time I had this epiphany was eating one my Mema’s (Dad’s mom) peanut butter bon bons.  DELICOUS.

I do not have the time, or the space to make homemade peanut butter bon bons (especially not in the rapidly heating summer months), but I had a craving for the chocolate/peanut butter combination on Sunday, so I decided to combine a REALLY simple chocolate cupcake recipe from the folks back in Kansas with some Reese’s peanut butter I had laying around.  The results were decadent to say the least.

DISCLAIMER: this is a TOTALLY midwestern cupcake recipe.  I’m not denying that the ingredients look disgusting and frankly, a little weird.  However, these will be some of the most moist and delicious chocolate cupcakes you’ll ever have… I promise! (I don’t know how it works…)

*sheepish* I attempted a peanutbuttercream frosting, which ended in total disaster when I dropped the mixing bowl on my kitchen floor BEFORE mixing and had powdered sugar, milk and butter ALL OVER MY TINY KITCHEN.  So I used Duncan Hines Chocolate Frosting.  My apologies.

Ingredients (for 15 cupcakes)

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 tabelspoons jelly (grape, strawberry or a combo)
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon dark chocolate extract (optional)
  • 1/2 cup of peanut butter

What you’ll have to clean up after:

  • 1 large mixing bowl
  • 1 wooden spoon
  • Measuring cup and spoons
  • Frosting knife
  • Pastry bag

Directions

Step One: Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C)

Step Two: Grease 15 muffin cups or line with paper baking cups.

Step Three: In large mixing bowl, mix together white sugar, flour, cocoa, and baking soda. Make a well in the center of the dry mix.

Step Four: Into the well (within the dry mix), pour in the water,  jelly, mayonnaise, 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1 teaspoon dark chocolate extract. Mix just until blended.

Step Five: Spoon the batter into the prepared cups, dividing evenly.

Step Six: Fill the pastry bag with 1/2 cup of peanut butter and place a standard frosting tip on the end.  Pipe 1-2 teaspoons of peanut butter into the chocolate batter in each cupcake paper.

Step Seven: Bake in the preheated oven until the tops spring back when lightly pressed, 20 to 25 minutes.

Step Eight: Cool in the pan set over a wire rack.

Step Nine: While cupcakes are cooling, make your frosting.  As I said above, I had a minor disaster while trying to create my peanutbuttercream, so I used a Duncan Hines milk chocolate frosting I had sittting around.  Frankly, any frosting you want to use from a vanilla or chocolate buttercream to a cream cheese frosting would be delicious.

-Eat Hearty!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Peanut Butter Filled Chocolate Cupcakes”

  1. The Beso Team Says:

    Dear Kyle,

    Thank You for entering the Bake Up Summer Sweets Contest. I hope you are given the opportunity to own a new KitchenAid mixer so you can whip up your red velvet brownie cupcake recipe with ease.
    Thank You and Good Luck!
    The Beso Team
    Beso.com

  2. Jane Says:

    Decadent!

Leave a Reply

