Fried Egg Salad

So around 11 last night I arrived home from my Cinco de Mayo celebrations.  Everyone will be shocked to learn, I had a couple margaritas. 

Starving to death, but not feeling like heading to the Amish Market I decided to make a (hopefully) low calorie* meal/snack… a “smeal” if you will.  In my fridge I found some asparagus, eggs, prociutto, and some swiss cheese.  Fortunately, I’m a big proponent of the breakfast for dinner concept… so I whipped up one of my go to “next day” recipes, the Eggs Benedict Salad.  Simple, quick and delicious (and also cheap). 

 *As I’m heading to St. Thomas in 2 weeks… I’ve got to keep the smeals margninally healthy.

Ingredients:

  • Arugula (1-2 cups… a nice bed)
  • Prociutto (can also used leftover ham or roasted chicken)
  • 1/4 cup shredded swiss cheese (smoked gouda would be GREAT also)
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil (for drizzling)
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar (for drizzling)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon butter (could also use Pam or a little more olive oil)

What you’ll have to clean up afterward:

  • Frying pan
  • cheese grater
  • serving bowl

Step One: Place arugula in bowl and drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  Toss and season with fresh ground salt and pepper to taste.  Add 1/2 the cheese and the prociutto on top.

Step Two: Melt butter in frying pan on medium heat.  Crack egg into pan and fry the egg  to your preferred consistency (I like mine sunnyside up or over easy… you want some runny yolk).

Step Three: Place the two eggs on top of the salad and top with remaining cheese.  Pop the yolk and stir to mix all the warm gooey goodness.

-Eat Hearty!

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Fried Egg Salad”

  1. Millie Cherryholmes Says:

    5-6-10

    This recipe sounds like one I will try…..soon….hve fun in St Thomas…I was there once….wonderful place to snorkel….

    mc

Leave a Reply

