Charlie’s Corn Dip…Don’t Judge (It’s Delish)

Skip to Corn Dip Recipe

In my second installment to what is apparently “dip week”, I give you my Dad’s Corn Dip.  Yes, that’s right… corn dip.

It’s funny because my Dad really started cooking when I was 10 or 11 when my Mom went back to grad school, and yet the first thing I really remember my Dad making that I just couldn’t get enough of was corn dip.

It’s possible that my mild obsession is b/c of fond memories as the only times he makes it is for the Wright-Family-New-Years-Day-Smorgasboard (I don’t know why we used the word “Smorgasboard” but, to this day, that’s what we call it), and the occasional summer bbq.  It could also be b/c there is mayo, sour cream and cheese in the recipe and you eat it with Fritos (one of my favorite chips).

Whatever the reason, I really love this dip and enjoy bringing it out every now and then for my friends in the City so they can turn their nose up and say “that’s gross” only to be licking the bowl clean when I turn around.  Oddly, I find that to be the case with many midwester recipes… like Pink Salad.

Don’t judge this dip by it’s looks… at least take a courtesy bite (as my Mom likes to say) — I guarantee you won’t “courtesy tasting” until it’s gone.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans fiesta corn
  • 1 cup mayo
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 small can diced jalapenos
  • 1 bundle green onions (chopped)
  • 2-16oz pkg shredded cheese
  • 1 small can of green chiles

What you’ll have to clean up after:

  • Mixing Bowl
  • Wooden Spoon
  • Can opener

Step One: Combine all ingredients into a mixing bowl and stir.

Step Two: Cover and chill for at least an hour before serving (you don’t HAVE to, but it tastes much better).

-Eat Hearty!

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Charlie’s Corn Dip…Don’t Judge (It’s Delish)”

  1. mom Says:

    This dip makes the process of clogging your arteries truly delightful. Try it! Plus it has a regulatory effect on many post-holiday partiers. (I’m just sayin)

  2. charskitchen Says:

    Yum, this dip sounds the best so far from dip week… I think this recipe is definitely one to add to the recipe box! Thanks for these great cooking ideas!
    http://www.charskitchen.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

